Sydney Writers' Festival 2023 [Alexis Wright]
  • SWF 2021 Friday ImageCredit PrudenceUpton 124 470x300
  • SWF 2021 credit Nick De Lorenzo 470x300
  • SWF 2021 credit Nick De Lorenzo 470x300
  • SWF 2021 Friday ImageCredit PrudenceUpton 157 470x300

Sydney Writers' Festival 2023
Alexis Wright

The Nelson Meers Foundation was proud to support the appearance of acclaimed Australian writer and historian Alexis Wright at the 2022 Sydney Writers Festival. 

Alexis Wright is a member of the Waanyi nation of the southern highlands of the Gulf of Carpentaria. The author of the prize-winning novels Carpentaria and The Swan Book, Wright has published four works of non-fiction: Take Power, an oral history of the Central Land Council; Grog War, a study of alcohol abuse in the Northern Territory; and Tracker, an award-winning collective memoir of Aboriginal leader, Tracker Tilmouth, and her latest, Praiseworthy.

Wright is the only author to win both the Miles Franklin Award (in 2007 for Carpentaria) and the Stella Prize (in 2018 for Tracker), and her books have been published widely overseas. She held the position of Boisbouvier Chair in Australian Literature at the University of Melbourne between 2017–2022.

More information about Alexis Wright and Sydney Writers’ Festival 2023 can be found here: